Cradle to Cradle

The Cradle to Cradle philosophy is at the heart of the Beneficial Design Institute. It accompanies us in every step of our work - on the conceptual, material, design and operational system level - and follows the principles of innovation, quality and good design. But what does Cradle to Cradle (C2C) stand for? What does it involve and why is it so important for a sustainable development in the fashion industry?

The concept behind it was developed in the 1990s by Prof. Michael Braungart (EPEA) and the architect William McDonough (MBDC). It pursues a positive and holistic approach to sustainability and does not speculate on a reduction in the amount of raw materials used. The motto is not to have a 'less bad' but ideally a 'positive' impact on the environment.

As alluded to in the translation "from cradle to cradle", Cradle to Cradle means that really everything is recycled. Just like in nature, there is no waste, no shortage and no limitations. It is a design concept based on the unlimited reuse of materials, the use of renewable energy and the stimulation of diversity.

As fashion is a driver for change, we are convinced that it can also have a positive effect on people, the environment and economic activity. Combined with the C2C philosophy, it can use its transformative powers and contribute to a long-term and holistic sustainable development.

Cradle to Cradle

Die Cradle-to-Cradle Philosophie steht im Mittelpunkt des Beneficial Design Institutes. Sie begleitet uns in jedem Schritt unserer Arbeit – auf der Konzeptions-, Material-, Design-, und operativen System-Ebene – und folgt dabei den Prinzipien von Innovation, Qualität und gutem Design. Doch wofür steht Cradle-to-Cradle (C2C)? Was beinhaltet es und warum ist es so wichtig für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in der Modeindustrie?

Das Konzept dahinter wurde in den 1990er Jahren von Prof. Michael Braungart (EPEA) und dem Architekten William McDonough (MBDC) entwickelt und verfolgt einen positiven und ganzheitlichen Ansatz von Nachhaltigkeit, der nicht von einer Reduzierung eingesetzter Rohstoffe ausgeht. Dabei lautet die Devise also nicht einen ‚weniger schlechten’, sondern idealerweise ‚positiven‘ Einfluss auf die Umwelt auszuüben.

Wie in der Übersetzung „Von der Wiege zur Wiege“ angespielt, bedeutet Cradle-to-Cradle, dass wirklich alles wiederverwertet wird. Genau wie in der Natur gibt es keinen Abfall, keinen Mangel und keine Einschränkungen. Es ist ein Designkonzept, das auf der unbegrenzten Wiederverwendung von Materialien basiert, der Verwendung erneuerbarer Energien und der Stimulation von Vielfalt.

Da Mode Triebfedern für Veränderung besitzt, sind wir davon überzeugt, dass auch sie einen positiven Effekt für Mensch, Umwelt und wirtschaftliches Handeln haben kann. Verbunden mit der C2C Philosophie kann sie ihre Transformationskraft nutzen und zu einer langfristig und ganzheitlich nachhaltigen Entwicklung beitragen, davon sind wir überzeugt.