Circular Design Speeds

Circular Design Speeds is a design concept that explores alternative solutions for different modes of consumption and usage within the circular economy. From 'ultra-fast' to 'super-slow' , it understands that more adaptive and consumer-centric approaches are needed to offer sustainable solutions for diverse behaviors and needs. 

Similar to other design approaches such as the Cradle-to-Cradle philosophy, the concept of ‚Circular Design Speeds‘ considers a product’s intended user period and afterlife and aligns the choice of circular materials and services accordingly.

‚Ultra-fast‘ approaches are intended for sustainable ‚fast fashion‘ applications and designed to be ‚thrown away‘ without doing harm to the environment. In this context, ‚fast’ becomes ‚good‘ instead of the conventional ‚bad‘. ‚Super-slow‘ approaches on the counter side focus on the ‚permanence‘ of a product and are designed to last for eternity. Here, next to the choice of recyclable materials, garment care and repair services play a vital role. 

More about the concept 'Circular Design Speeds' on the website of the research initiative by the Centre for Circular Design and Mistra Future Fashion

Circular Design Speeds

Circular Design Speeds ist ein Designkonzept, das alternative Lösungen für verschiedene Arten des Konsums und der Nutzung innerhalb der Kreislaufwirtschaft erforscht. Von ‚ultraschnell‘ bis ’superlangsam‘ versteht es, dass anpassungsfähigere und verbraucherzentrierte Ansätze erforderlich sind, um nachhaltige Lösungen für unterschiedliche Verhaltensweisen und Bedürfnisse anzubieten. 

Ähnlich wie bei anderen Designansätzen wie der Cradle-to-Cradle-Philosophie berücksichtigt das Konzept Circular Design Speeds, der ‚zirkulären Designgeschwindigkeiten‘, die vorgesehene Nutzungsdauer eines Produkts und das Leben nach dessen Nutzung und richtet die Wahl der zirkulären Materialien und Dienstleistungen entsprechend aus.

‚Ultraschnelle‘ Ansätze sind für nachhaltige ‚Fast-Fashion‘-Anwendungen gedacht und so gestaltet, dass sie weggeworfen werden können, ohne der Umwelt zu schaden. In diesem Zusammenhang wird ’schnell‘ zu ‚gut‘ anstelle des herkömmlichen ’schlecht‘. Die ’superlangsamen‘ Ansätze konzentrieren sich auf die Beständigkeit eines Produkts und sind für die Ewigkeit ausgelegt. Hier spielen neben der Wahl von recycelbaren Materialien auch die Pflege und Reparatur von Kleidungsstücken eine wichtige Rolle. 

Mehr über das Konzept ‚Circular Design Speeds‘ auf der Website der Forschungsinitiative des Centre for Circular Design und Mistra Future Fashion